Federal Communications Commission 445 12th St., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: https://www.fcc.gov

TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 20-878 Released August 13, 2020

CHAIRMAN PAI ANNOUNCES THE NEW MEMBERS OF THE INTERGOVERNMENTAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Chairman Ajit Pai today announced the new members of the FCC's Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (IAC) and named Paul J. TenHaken, Mayor of Sioux Falls, SD, Chair of the IAC and Peter J. Larkin, Chairman of the Board of the Massachusetts Broadband Institute, as Vice-Chair. The IAC is comprised of elected and appointed officials of municipal, county, state, and Tribal governments and provides guidance, expertise, and recommendations to the Commission on a range of telecommunication issues for which local, state, and Tribal governments explicitly or inherently share responsibility or administration with the Commission.

BACKGROUND AND MISSION

On November 6, 2019, the Commission announced the reauthorization of the IAC, whose prior term expired September 24, 2019, and sought nominations for membership to the committee.¹ The reauthorized IAC will operate for two years, with an option for the Commission to reauthorize it at the end of the two-year period.² The term will commence with the new IAC's first meeting.

During its two-year term, the IAC may be tasked by the Chairman to produce specific deliverables that will further the Commission's mission and objectives, which may include, but not be limited to, those related to increasing deployment and adoption of broadband services, strengthening public safety communications infrastructure and emergency response capabilities, and any other task necessary to help local, state, and Tribal government officials clarify or explain Commission rules and policies to their constituents and other members of the public. The Office of Intergovernmental Affairs (IGA) within the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau is the Chairman's designee to serve as liaison to the IAC and provide oversight of the committee.

COMPOSITION OF THE IAC

Pursuant to Section 0.701(b) of the Commission's rules, the IAC consists of thirty members (or their designated employees), with a minimum of four elected municipal officials (city mayors and city council members); two elected county officials (county commissioners or council members); one elected or appointed local government attorney; one elected state executive (governor or lieutenant governor);

¹ FCC Announces Reauthorization of Its Intergovernmental Advisory Committee and Solicits Nominations for Membership on the Committee, Public Notice, 34 FCC Rcd 10332 (2019). Subsequently, in order to provide all interested parties with the opportunity to apply for membership, the deadline for submitting applications was twice extended, to January 13, 2020 and January 27, 2020, respectively. FCC Announces Extension of Deadline to Submit Nominations for Membership on the Intergovernmental Advisory Committee, 34 FCC Rcd 11208 (2019); FCC Further Extends Deadline to Submit Nominations for Membership on the Intergovernmental Advisory Committee, Public Notice, DA 20-37 2020, WL 133096 (CGB Jan. 10, 2020).

² See 47 CFR § 0.701(a)

three elected state legislators; one elected or appointed public utilities or public service commissioner; and three elected or appointed Tribal representatives.³

MEMBERS OF THE IAC

The newly appointed IAC members are:

State Executive Representatives (3)

Eric Holcomb, Governor, Indiana

Designee: Robert E. Carter, Commissioner, State of Indiana Department of Corrections

John Husted, Lieutenant Governor, Ohio

Karyn E. Polito, Lieutenant Governor, Massachusetts

Designee: Peter J. Larkin, Chairman of the Board of the Massachusetts Broadband Institute at the Massachusetts Technology Collaborative and Special Advisor to the Executive Office of Housing and Economic Development (IAC Vice-Chair)

Municipal Representatives (12)

Paul TenHaken, Mayor, City of Sioux Falls, South Dakota (IAC Chair)

Steve Adler, Mayor, City of Austin, Texas

James R Clark, Town Council Member, Town of Orleans, Indiana

Jenn Daniels, Mayor, Town of Gilbert, Arizona

Alix Desulme, City Councilman, City of North Miami, Florida

Mike Duggan, Mayor, City of Detroit, Michigan

Designee: Joshua Edmonds, Director of Digital Inclusion, City of Detroit

Scott A. Fadness, Mayor, City of Fishers, Indiana

John Fogle, City Councilor, City of Loveland, Colorado

Brian J. O'Neill, Philadelphia City Council Member, Pennsylvania

Adrian Perkins, Mayor, City of Shreveport, Louisiana

Timothy A. Scott, Mayor, Borough of Carlisle, Pennsylvania

Tony Singh, Council Member, District 2, Town of Little Elm, Texas

County Representatives (3)

Pamela Carter, Member of the Augusta County Board of Supervisors, Virginia

Paul M. Wendel, Jr., Chautauqua County Executive, Mayville, NY

B. Glen Whitley, County Judge, Tarrant County, Texas

City Attorney Representative (1)

Debra M. Bryan, Associate City Attorney, City of Virginia Beach, Virginia

-

³ See 47 CFR § 0.701 (b).

State Legislative Representatives (5)

Spencer Hawks, State Representative, Arkansas House of Representatives

Kristin Phillips-Hill, State Senator, Pennsylvania State Senate

Robert H. Plymale, State Senator, West Virginia State Senate

Angelo J. Puppolo, Massachusetts State Representative

Jason Saine, State Representative, North Carolina General Assembly

State Public Utility Commission Representatives (2)

Upendra J. Chivukula, Commissioner, New Jersey Board of Public Utilities

Alexandra Fernández Navarro, Associate Member, Puerto Rico Public Service Regulatory Board

Tribal Representatives (4)

Clifford Agee, Under Secretary of Subsidiary Services and Support, Chickasaw Nation, Ada, Oklahoma

Godfrey Enjady, General Manager for Mescalero Apache Telecom, Inc, New Mexico

Tina Glory Jordan, Secretary of State, Cherokee Nation, Tahlequah, Oklahoma

Danae Wilson, Manager Department of Technology Services, Nez Perce Tribe, Lapwai, Idaho

EXEMPTION FROM THE FEDERAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE ACT

Pursuant to the "intergovernmental communication" exemption of UMRA,⁴ the IAC is not subject to, and is not required to follow, the procedures set forth in the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), 5 U.S.C. App 2 (1988).⁵

ACCESSIBLE FORMATS

To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an e-mail to fcc504@fcc.gov or call the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0530 (voice) or (202) 418-0432 (TTY).

FURTHER INFORMATION

For further information, please contact: Carmen Scanlon, Attorney Advisor, Office of Intergovernmental Affairs, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, (202) 418-0544, carmen.scanlon@fcc.gov.

⁵ See 47 CFR § 0.701(a).

⁴ See 2 U.S.C. § 1534 (b).